Inter-Governmental Authority on Development (IGAD)

Speeches Shim


The Intergovernmental Authority on Development (IGAD) is a body of eight member states: Djibouti, Ethiopia, Kenya, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan and Uganda (Eritrea is currently inactive), and is based in Djibouti. Its mission is to assist and complement the efforts of its member states in areas of peace, security, agriculture, environment, economic cooperation and social development.

Once IGAD became a Public International Organization, a Regional Development Objective Grant Agreement (RDOAG) was signed in June, 2016.  The five year agreement focuses on shared development priorities to promote sustainable economic integration across the regional; improve systems to respond to development risks, such as those related to climate change, drought and violent extremism; and strengthen IGAD’s organizational leadership.  USAID currently supports three initiatives under IGAD, explained below.

Conflict Early Warning and Response Mechanism (CEWARN)

IGAD’s CEWARN helps strengthen cross-border conflict management in the Horn of Africa.  Conflict Early Warning and Response Units (CEWERU) are located in six IGAD member states: Djibouti, Ethiopia, Kenya, Somalia, South Sudan and Uganda. Each CEWERU brings together government and civil society to implement conflict management activities.

IGAD’s Drought Disaster Resilience and Sustainability Initiative (IDDRSI)

Mandated by the heads of stated from the region in 2012, IDDRSI seeks to address the catastrophic recurrent droughts and related environmental concerns in a sustainable manner.  USAID provides support for two main activities:

  1. Building a knowledge-management system and
  2. Providing IGAD Secretariat staff support in administration, finance and procurement.

IGAD’s Climate Prediction and Applications Center (ICPAC)

Based in Nairobi, ICPAC is a specialized IGAD institution that helps to integrate climate science and research into the region’s economic policies. In addition to partner states, ICPAC includes the governments of Rwanda and Tanzania.  USAID is building ICPAC capacity as an integral part of USAID’s Planning for Resiliency in East Africa through Policy, Adaptation, Research and Economic Development Program (PREPARED).

Issuing Country 
Tuesday, July 5, 2016 - 2:15pm